Skip to content

New Faces on REISA’s Board of Directors

REISA’s board of directors recently announced the election of its officers for 2014. The title of 2014 President-Elect goes to Thomas G. Voekler. Mr. Voekler will serve as President-Elect through December 2014 and will then serve a one-year term as President starting January 2015. He will be replacing Mark Kosanke of Concorde Financial Group, who is now serving through the end of 2014.

Mr. Voekler is a managing partner and co-founder of the law firm Kaplan Voekler Cunningham & Frank, PLC, in Richmond, VA. His legal practice mainly concentrates on corporate finance, public and private securities offerings, which include private equity and hedge funds, and corporate governance issues, with a focus on REITs, 1031 syndications (DSTs) as well as other public and private offerings of real estate investments.

Mr. Voekler joins a group of other illustrious officers.

Peter Blum has been elected as Vice President. Since 2011, he has been the co-chief executive officer and co-president of Ladenberg Thalman, an independent brokerage and advisory firm.

Derek Peterson, who is senior vice president of business development for Walton International Group and on the board of directors for Walton Securities, Inc., was elected as Secretary.

Deborah Froling of Arent Fox’s corporate/securities and real estate groups, was elected as Treasurer.

REISA’s 2013 President, Michael Weil, who is President of American Realty Capital, will be staying on the Board of REISA as Immediate Past President.

REISA’s 2014 officers are joining the rest of its Board of Directors, which includes:

Dr. Randy Anderson, CBRE

Fred Baerenz, AOG Wealth Management

Mike Bendix, DFPG Investments

Barbara Halper, FactRight

Keith Lampi, Inland Private Capital Corporation

Shim Plotkin, Plotkin Financial

Brad Updike, Mick & Associates

Todd Van Pelt, Cambridge Investment Research

Darryl Steinhause, DLA Piper, serves as the Board’s legal counsel.