Home News IPA Awards Industry Veterans at IPAVision 2016 Conference

IPA Awards Industry Veterans at IPAVision 2016 Conference

The Investment Program Association, a trade organization representing the direct investment industry, awarded Mark Goldberg, chairman of Carey Financial LLC and president of investment management for W. P. Carey Inc. (NYSE: WPC), with its Lifetime Achievement Award. The award was presented in Chicago at the IPAVision 2016 Conference, which drew more than 450 attendees.

“Mark Goldberg has been a true leader and passionate advocate for the direct investments industry and has demonstrated a tireless commitment to the IPA over a period of decades,” commented Tony Chereso, president and CEO of the IPA. “He has never wavered in bringing all parties together – particularly our regulatory and legislative leaders – in an effort to strengthen direct investment products on behalf of the investing public. It is truly an honor to recognize Mark for his ongoing contributions and leadership.”

Goldberg joined the IPA board of directors in 2010 and in 2014 was named chairman. In January 2015, he assumed the role of IPA’s chair emeritus. Prior to his executive leadership positions at Carey Financial and W. P. Carey, Goldberg was president and chief executive officer of Royal Alliance Associates Inc., an independent broker-dealer and member of one of the nation’s largest networks of independent financial advisors. Before his tenure at Royal Alliance, he was executive vice president of SunAmerica Financial Network and served as president of SunAmerica’s securities affiliate in Tokyo.

The IPA also honored Rosemarie Thurston, partner at Alston & Bird LLP, and Todd Lockwood, senior vice president of operations and client services at Cole Capital, with its Outstanding Service Award.

Thurston currently serves on the IPA board of directors and has previously served as the chair of the IPA legal & regulatory committee. For nearly a decade she has been actively engaged, providing key insights on a wide range of legal and regulatory issues.

Lockwood previously served as chair of the IPA operations committee and led the E-signature consortium, working with NASAA on its e-signature and electronic documents guidelines.

“The strength of the IPA comes directly from the engagement and volunteerism of its members, who are the key drivers of our association,” said Chereso. “Rosemarie and Todd are shining examples of members who give their time and talent to continuously move our industry forward. We are honored to present them with our Outstanding Service Award.”

The Investment Program Association was formed in 1985 to provide national leadership for the direct investment industry. The IPA supports individual investor access to a variety of asset classes not correlated to the traded markets and historically available only to institutional investors. These include public non-traded REITs, business development companies, energy and equipment leasing programs, and private equity offerings. The mission of the IPA is advocating direct investments through education.

Click here to visit The DI Wire directory page.