Skip to content

FSI Adds Three to Board of Directors

FSI Adds Three to Board of Directors. Financial Services Institute, FSI, board, executive committee, 2024, independent contractor rule, RIA, registered investment adviser

The Financial Services Institute announced new members to its board of directors and its 2024 executive committee. All three individuals are independent financial advisers:

Tom McCartney, founding principal, My Advisor & Planner

Mary Steele, managing partner, Freehold Wealth Management

Ben Wuerffel, financial adviser, Capital Analysts of Jacksonville

The board also elected five of its members to leadership positions in its 2024 executive committee: Jamie Price, president and CEO of Osaic, will be board chair; Tim Stinson, president of Cetera Advisor Network, will be vice chair in 2024 and chair in 2025; J. Scott Spiker, executive chairman of First Command Financial Services is the immediate past chair; Christine Byrne, partner and wealth adviser at Back Cove Financial, will be finance chair; and Doug Ketterer, CEO and founding partner, Atria Wealth Solutions, will be FSI’s PAC chair.

“As we mark our 20th anniversary in 2024, I am excited to welcome three new distinguished members to our Board,” said Dale Brown, FSI president and CEO. “Their insights as independent financial advisers will provide context in our defense of advisers’ independent contractor status, and we are blessed to have a board that offers a wealth of industry experience and expertise…”

“…I am honored to lead FSI’s Board of Directors,” said Price. “Stepping into 2024, the industry faces an evolving, complicated regulatory landscape, with a host of issues impacting the industry, ranging from protecting financial advisers’ independent contractor status to ensuring Main Street Americans have access to the affordable, professional financial advice, products and services they need to achieve their financial goals.”

“Despite these challenges, the entire FSI Board is prepared to passionately advocate for the independent financial services industry and Main Street investors,” Price concluded.

In addition to those elected to leadership positions, continuing on the board are:

Libet Anderson, president, Concourse Financial Group;

Denise Barrows, financial adviser, Barrows Trostle Advisors;

Von Cook, managing partner, Client Centric Advisors;

Alex David, president and CEO, Stifel Independent Advisors;

Ed Forst, president and CEO, Lincoln Investment;

Mary Beth Hofmeister, registered principal/financial adviser, Sage Financial Associates;

David Knoch, CEO, Docupace;

Stephen Langlois, president, Kestra Financial;

Adam Malamed, CEO, Sanctuary Wealth Group;

Robert Milmore; district manager, First Command Financial Services;

Jodi Perry, national head of adviser recruiting, Raymond James Financial Services;

John Rooney, managing principal, Commonwealth Financial Network;

Emily Schlosser, chief operating officer, BNY Mellon | Pershing;

Marc Squires, SVP, head of wealth and brokerage platforms, Fidelity Investments;

Amy Webber, CEO, Cambridge Investment Research, Inc.; and Gwen Weithaus.

Rolling off the board are Steve Horn, president of Prosperity Financial Group; and Tom Santucci, founder and president of Gateway Investments.

Financial Services Institute advocates on behalf of independent financial advisers and independent financial services firms.

Click here to visit The DI Wire directory page.