Home Alts News Financial Advisor to Chair FSI Board of Directors

Financial Advisor to Chair FSI Board of Directors

The Financial Services Institute, a trade organization that represents independent financial advisors and financial services firms, has elected new directors for its 2018 board of directors.

The new directors include Ed Forst, president and CEO of Lincoln Investment Planning; Chris Maryanopolis, president of Signator Investors; and Scott Spiker, chairman and CEO of First Command.

Dean Harman, founder and CEO of Harman Wealth Management, was named chairman of the board, the second financial advisor to hold the position.

“Our membership has been blessed once again with a strong, diverse and visionary board,” said FSI president and CEO Dale Brown. “The CEOs and financial advisors who lead our board understand the critical nature of our advocacy and how it impacts their businesses and their clients. They will not only lead FSI, but the entire industry, into a brighter future.”

“Never has the voice of independent financial advisors and financial services firms been more indispensable in the critical debates happening on Capitol Hill, in the states and in the financial services industry,” said David Knoch, incoming board vice chair.

The board also elected five directors to the 2018 executive committee, including:

Chair of the board: Dean Harman

Vice Chair (Chair in 2018): David Knoch, president of 1st Global

Immediate Past Chair: Richard Lampen, president and CEO of Ladenburg Thalmann Financial Services

Finance Chair: Scott Curtis, president of Raymond James Financial Services

PAC Chair: John Rooney, managing principal of Commonwealth Financial Network

In addition to those elected to leadership positions, continuing on the board are Adam Antoniades of Cetera Financial Group; Valerie Brown of Advisor Group; Richard Bryant of Capital Investment Companies; Kent Christian of Wells Fargo Advisors Financial Network; Bill Dowell (financial advisor); Joe Himelick (financial advisor); Tony Lajeunesse (financial advisor); Kimberly Kropp (financial advisor); Shawn McLaughlin of McLaughlin Ryder Investments; and James Poer of Kestra Financial.

The Financial Services Institute represents more than 100 independent financial services firm members and their 160,000+ affiliated financial advisors.

Click here to visit The DI Wire directory page.